The BullDog Battle, Butler University’s annual college speech tournament, will be renamed the William W. Neher BullDog Battle, in honor of the College of Communication dean and 1966 alumnus.

“It seemed like a good time to do it,” said Director of Forensics Janis Crawford, who coaches Butler’s Speech and Debate Team. “This is the 10th anniversary of the BullDog Battle, and many of our alums are coming back. Plus, since he’s the dean of the new college, it made sense.”

This year’s tournament, which will be held on campus Saturday and Sunday, will include 12 schools and about 150 students participating in individual events and debate.

In addition to the Butler team, students from Ball State University, Bradley University, DePauw University, Grove City College, Hillsdale College, IUPUI, Marian University, Marietta College, Miami University, Purdue University, University of Indianapolis and Webster University will compete.

Butler will be represented by senior Caitlin Haycock, juniors Lauren Lupkowski, Matt Miller, Allie Gardner, Kyle Faulkner and Hitesh Dube, sophomores Kelsey Coy, Andrew Wray, Cierra Coffman and Anthony Law-Wylie, and first-year students Molly Kordas and Jacob Wade.

Rather than trophies, the winning teams and participants receive stuffed bulldogs.

Media Contact:
Marc Allan
(317) 940-9822


Tagged with →