Professor of Communication Studies William W. Neher and Professor of Communication David H. Waite will retire from the College of Communication in May, closing long and distinguished careers at Butler.

A retirement reception will take place from 4-6 p.m. April 12 in the Ford Salon of Robertson Hall. Friends may honor the retirees with contributions to the Neher Scholarship or the Waite Scholarship, respectively. For more information, contact Wendy Harlow at or (317) 940-6463.

Neher has been at Butler for 42 years. He has served as dean of the University College, director of the Honors Program, head of the Department of Communication Studies, chair of the Faculty Assembly, and, since summer 2010, the interim dean for the College of Communication.

He also teaches in the Global and Historical Studies core program, and has taught in the MBA program (courses in organizational communication), as well as courses in African History in Liberal Arts and Sciences. He has served as a consultant and trainer in presentational speaking for, among others, AT&T, PSI Energy, Indianapolis Power and Light Co., the city of Indianapolis and the state of Indiana.

He is the author of several books dealing with organization and professional communication, ethics, and African studies. His latest book, Communicating Ethically: Character, Duties, Consequences, and Relationships (2007), was co-authored by Paul Sandin, lecturer in organizational communication and leadership.

He has been frequently recognized for teaching excellence. He also received the 2002 Butler Service Medal and the 2008 Distinguished Service Award presented by the national Phi Eta Sigma Scholastic Honor Society.

Waite joined the faculty of Butler University in 1975 as an assistant professor after teaching at his alma mater, the University of Vermont.

In 1980, Butler promoted Waite to associate professor and then to full professor in 1988. He has served as department head of Communication Studies (1991-1999 and 2007-2010), director of debate and forensics (1978-1983 and 1989-1995), and assistant debate coach (1983-1988).

He has been chair of the District V governing committee for the National Debate Tournament (NDT), secretary of the NDT governing committee, and vice president and president of Delta Sigma Rho – Tau Kappa Alpha, the national debate and forensics honorary.