Audiences can see nearly 30 performances, most of them free.

Butler University’s School of Music will present a wide array of exciting performances during the spring 2018 semester, including a joint performance of Bernstein’s Trouble in Tahiti and Puccini’s Suor Angelica by the Butler Opera Theatre and Butler Symphony Orchestra on April 13 and 14 in the Schrott Center for the Arts.

The schedule of performances is:

Duckwall Artist Series presents Trina Gross, clarinet
Tuesday, January 23, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the Elektronik Musik Fest
Sunday, January 28, 7:30 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Kirsten Gunlogson, mezzo-soprano/Karen Coker, soprano
Tuesday, January 30, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents David Michael Schuster, tenor/Michael Scherperel, piano
Tuesday, February 6, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Thomas Gerber, harpsichord/David Murray, bass
Tuesday, February 13, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Pivec/Wittman/Phelps, jazz trio
Tuesday, February 20, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the Butler University Symphonic Band
Wednesday, February 21, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the JCA Composers Orchestra
Thursday, February 22, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Music at Butler presents the Butler Chorale, Spectra, and University Choir
Friday, February 23, 7:30 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: $10; $5 for students (18 and under) and seniors (55 and over). Free with Butler ID.

Music at Butler presents the Butler Symphony Orchestra
Saturday, February 24, 7:30 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: $10; $5 for students (18 and under) and seniors (55 and over). Free with Butler ID.

Music at Butler presents the Butler Wind Ensemble
Sunday, February 25, 3:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: $10; $5 for students (18 and under) and seniors (55 and over). Free with Butler ID.

Duckwall Artist Series presents Brooks/Wiersma/Kniffen/Fowler, string quartet
Tuesday, February 27, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the Percussion Ensemble
Thursday, March 1, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Michael Carrera, cello/Christopher Durrenberger, piano
Tuesday, March 6, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Craig Hultgren, cello/Larry Axelrod, piano
Tuesday, March 20, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Faculty Chamber Music
Tuesday, April 3, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the Jazz Ensemble with Benny Golson
Thursday, April 5, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents Jordan Jazz
Monday, April 11, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Schelle, Sasaki, and Friends
Tuesday, April 10, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the JCA Composers Orchestra
Thursday, April 12, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Butler Opera Theatre and the Butler Symphony Orchestra presents Trouble in Tahiti and Suor Angelica
Friday, April 12, and Saturday, April 13, 7:30 PM both nights
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: To be announced

Duckwall Artist Series presents Richard Dole/Jared Rodin, trombone
Tuesday, April 17, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the Percussion Ensemble
Wednesday, April 18, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents the Symphonic Band
Thursday, April 19, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents Jazz Combos
Sunday, April 22, 8:00 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Duckwall Artist Series presents Northern Accord Trio, voice, piano, clarinet
Tuesday, April 24, 7:30 PM
Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series presents Jazz Combos
Wednesday, April 25, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Neighborhood Concert Series present the Butler Wind Ensemble
Thursday, April 26, 7:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: Free

Music at Butler presents the Butler Chorale, Spectra, and University Choir
Sunday, April 29, 3:00 PM
Schrott Center for the Arts
Admission: $10; $5 for students (18 and under) and seniors (55 and over). Free with Butler ID.

 

Media contact:
Marc Allan
mallan@butler.edu
317-940-9822

 

(6)