Author Mark Kurlansky ’70 Also Initiated

Butler University’s Theta of Indiana Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society inducted 36 new student members and alumnus Mark Kurlansky ’70 on April 14.

Student members are selected based on their grade point averages in the liberal arts and sciences, the breadth and depth of their areas of study, honors program involvement, undergraduate research activity and other campus involvement and leadership.

Kurlansky, who earned a bachelor’s degree in theatre from Butler, is an award-winning journalist and author. He has had 23 books published, including New York Times best-sellers Cod, Salt, and Food of a Younger Land.

New student members, listed with their majors and hometowns, are:

Carla Marie Black, music and Spanish, Fishers, Ind.
Allison Krista Brave, communication science & disorders and Spanish, Glen Ellyn, Ill.
Kristin Elizabeth Briscoe, chemistry and Spanish, Fort Wayne, Ind.
Stephanie Ruth Cheuvront, history and classical studies, Baltimore, Md.
Melanie Kay Clark, chemistry, Shelbyville, Ind.
Rachel Frances Colby, middle/secondary education in mathematics, La Grange, Ill.
Meg Emilyn Cychosz, English literature and French, Baraboo, Wis.
Maddie Marie Eckrich, English writing, Indianapolis.
Elizabeth Nicole Erb, psychology and French, Lombard, Ill.
Joshua Ferguson, physics, Manchester, Mo.
Brian Robert Gross, English writing and classical studies, Frankfort, Ill.
Katie MacKenzie Hammitt, international studies and French, Martinsville, Ind.
Lauren Nicole Hodge, political science, Mishawaka, Ind.
Connor Patrick Hofmeister, mathematics and Spanish, Indianapolis.
Brittany Lee Jordan, psychology, Fortville, Ind.
Jordan Elizabeth Kirkegaard, chemistry and Spanish, Franklin, Wis.
Laura Marie Kirkham, religion, Avon, Ind.
Dan McCray Kroupa, chemistry, Manchester, Mo.
Emily Kristen Lazar, psychology, Indianapolis.
Toni Marie Maraldo, psychology, Fenton, Mo.
Angela Katharine Miller, international studies and Spanish, Madison, Wis.
Matt Bryce Miller, religion and speech, Boonville, Ind.
Ashley Elizabeth Neiweem, biology and Spanish, Glenview, Ill.
Sara Marie Pruzin, journalism and political science, Floyds Knobs, Ind.
Mary Sekela, English writing, Lexington, Ky.
Avery Elisabeth Stearman, German and international studies, Austin, Texas.
Patrick Edward Thevenow, anthropology and history, Madison, Ind.
Shelbe Kathryn Tillman, international studies and Spanish, Muncie, Ind.
Ben Thomas Trefilek, chemistry, Lombard, Ill.
Emily Ann Welter, sociology and Spanish, Valparaiso, Ind.
Hannah Elaine Wysong, sociology and history, Fort Wayne, Ind.

Christine Therese Fisher, psychology, Joliet, Ill.
Dan Lee French, chemistry and biomedical engineering, Marion, Ind.
Kala Christine Ghooray, chemistry and Spanish, Indianapolis
Hannah Layne Sutton, English literature, Lawrenceburg, Ind.
Christy Annalise Tatara, biology and Spanish, Fort Wayne, Ind.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honor society devoted to the advancement of the liberal arts. Phi Beta Kappa membership is considered an emblem of high achievement and provides a competitive advantage for those who qualify.

Contact: Mary Ellen Stephenson
(317) 940-6944