Butler University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (COPHS) is the recipient of the first annual “Bruce Hancock Award for Excellence in Pharmacy” by the Indiana Rural Health Association (IRHA).

Created in honor of the late Bruce Hancock — former director of COPHS Pharm.D. Experiential Programs — the award is given to a person or organization that demonstrates and supports the advancement of pharmacy practice in rural and underserved areas.

“We thank the Indiana Rural Health Association for naming the award in honor of Bruce and thank them, too, for honoring the college as the first recipient,” said Bruce Clayton, associate dean for COPHS.

Hancock had a long-standing affiliation with IRHA, extending back to 2001-2003 when he was director of the Rural Underserved Access to Health (RUAH) Program in collaboration with St. Vincent Hospital and COPHS.A major goal of the RUAH project was to improve medication access and ways to utilize pharmacy in underserved areas. Hancock also served on IRHA committees on health policy and on their board of directors for several years.He was president of the association in 2008-2009.

Tagged with →